Executive Committee
    Potential Collaborators and Advisors
Advisory Committee
   RWJF National      Program Office


  Core Seminar      Schedule
    Colloquium on Social Science and Health
    Key Program Dates for Scholars, Faculty and Directors

Related Links & FAQs  

Program Director:
Katherine Swartz , Professor of Health Economics and Policy, Department of Health Policy and Management at the Harvard School of Public Health, has been the Program Director since 2004.

Program Administrator:
Sage Kochavi

The Program also has an Executive Committee, composed of the following faculty, who provide advice to the Director and help select the Scholars:

Michael Chernew is the Leonard D. Schaeffer Professor of Health Care Policy at Harvard Medical School. Dr. Chernew’s research examines several areas related to controlling health care spending growth while maintaining or improving quality of care.

Daniel Carpenter, Allie S. Freed Professor of Government and Director of the Center for American Political Studies in the Faculty of Arts and Sciences at Harvard University. On leave Spring 2014.

Jennifer Hochschild , Henry LaBarre Jayne Professor of Government, Professor of African and African American Studies, and Harvard College Professor. She also holds lectureships in the Kennedy School of Government and the Graduate School of Education. On leave 2013 - 2014 academic year.

Thomas McGuire, Professor of Health Economics in the Department of Health Care Policy at Harvard Medical School. His research focuses on the design and impact of health care payment systems, the economics of health care disparities, and the economics of mental health policy.

Peter Marsden, Edith and Benjamin Geisinger Professor of Sociology and Harvard College Professor. After serving as the Chair of the Sociology Department between 1992 and 1998 and in 2002-03, he was appointed Dean of Social Science, January 2011. His research interests are centered on social organization, especially formal organizations and social networks. He has ongoing interests in social science methodology and in the sociology of medicine.

Joseph P. Newhouse is the John D. MacArthur Professor of Health Policy and Management at Harvard University, Director of the Division of Health Policy Research and Education, chair of the Committee on Higher Degrees in Health Policy. He is a member of the faculties of the John F. Kennedy School of Government, the Harvard Medical School, the Harvard School of Public Health, and the Faculty of Arts and Sciences, as well as a Faculty Research Associate of the National Bureau of Economic Research.

Mary Waters, M.E. Zukerman Professor of Sociology at Harvard University, specializing in the study of immigration, inter-group relations, the formation of racial and ethnic identity among the children of immigrants, and the challenges of measuring race and ethnicity. Chair, Department of Sociology at Harvard University.